We know planning family travel can be a juggle. You have to plan for public holidays, school holidays and annual leave. 

Here’s something to help you out. We have done the research on school holidays for you.

Here are all the school holidays 2019 and the school holidays 2020. 

school holidays

School holidays 2019 and 2020. Picture: Shutterstock

School holidays 2019

New South Wales

Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April

Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July

Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October

Saturday  21 December –  Monday 3 February (Western Division)

Saturday 21 December – Monday 27 January (Eastern Division)

ACT

Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April

Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July

Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October

Thursday 19 December – Sunday 2 February

Queensland

Saturday 6 April – Monday 22 April

Saturday 29 June – Sunday 14 July

Saturday 21 September – Monday 7 October

Saturday 14 December – Monday 27 January

Victoria

Saturday 6 April – Monday 22 April

Saturday 29 June – Sunday 14 July

Saturday 21 September – Sunday 6 October

Saturday 21 December – Tuesday 28 January

South Australia

Saturday 13 April – Saturday 28 April

Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July

Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October

Saturday 14 December – Monday 27 January

Western Australia

Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April

Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July

Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October

Friday 20 December – Sunday 2 February

Tasmania

Saturday 13 April – Sunday 29 April

Saturday 7 July – Sunday 22 July

Saturday 29 September – Sunday 14 October

Friday 21 December – Tuesday 5 February

Northern Territory

Saturday 13 April – Monday 22 April

Saturday 29 June – Monday 22 July

Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October

Friday 13 December – Tuesday 28 January

school holidays

Start planning now for school holidays trips in 2019 and 2020. Picture: Shutterstock

Before you start to look at 2020 – you should check out this story: How to maximise your holiday and minimise your annual leave in 2019

And this list has ALL the public holidays in 2019

School holidays 2020 

New South Wales

Friday 10 April – Sunday 26 April

Saturday 4 July – Sunday 18 July

Saturday 26 September – Sunday 11 October

Saturday 19 December – Monday 25 January (TBC) Western Division

Saturday 19 December – Monday 2 February (TBC) Eastern Division

ACT

Friday 10 April – Sunday 26 April

Saturday 4 July – Sunday 19 July

Saturday 26 September – Sunday 11 October

Friday 18 December – Monday 1 February

Queensland

Saturday 4 April – Sunday 19 April

Saturday 27 June – Sunday 12 July

Saturday 20 September – Monday 5 October

Saturday 12 December – Monday 25 January

Victoria

Saturday 28 March – Monday 13 April

Saturday 27 June – Sunday 12 July

Saturday 19 September – Sunday 4 October

Saturday 19 December to Tuesday 26 January

South Australia

Friday 19 April – Sunday 26 April

Saturday 4 July – Sunday 19 July

Saturday 26 September – Sunday 11 October

Saturday 12 December – Sunday 31 January

Western Australia

Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April

Saturday 4 July – Sunday 19 July

Saturday 26 September – Sunday 11 October

Friday 18 December – Sunday 31 January

Tasmania

Friday 10 April – Sunday 26 April

Saturday 4 July – Sunday 19 July

Saturday 26 September – Sunday 11 October

Friday 18 December – Monday 1 February TBC

Northern Territory (TBC)

So now all you need to do is to plan WHERE you are going to go. 

Here are a few stories to help you decide. 

You need to explore these Vietnam islands with kids

Better than Bali. Aussies rave about Bintan Island

Why you should go to Disney World Orlando

In-flight hacks for economy class comfort

19 cruise hacks make sailing easy